Driving is a privilege, not a right. The State grants you the privilege of operating motor vehicles only as long as you drive safely and obey the rules and regulations. If you violate driving laws, your driving privileges may be suspended or revoked. The period of the suspension or revocation varies with the type of offense(s) committed. A fee of $50.00 must be paid to reinstate a suspended license; A $200.00 fee is charged to reinstate a revoked license. You may be required to complete all driver license written, road, and eye-screen exams before reinstating your license. Suspension of a license is a temporary removal of your driving privilege. Revocation of a license is a cancellation of your driving privilege. For questions regarding license suspension or to pay your reinstatement fee over the phone you may call 302.744.2509. For questions regarding license revocation or to pay your reinstatement fee over the phone you may call 302.744.2508. For questions regarding serious medical conditions you may call the Division’s Medical department 302.744.2507.
The Division will suspend or revoke the license of any Delaware resident who has been convicted of a violation in another state which, if committed in Delaware, would be grounds for suspension or revocation of a license. The driving record includes all convictions, even those committed in other states.
The following are mandatory revocations:
- Driving while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or narcotic drugs
- Hit-and-run driving involving death or injury to another person
- Attempting to flee from a police officer after having received a visual or audible signal to stop your vehicle
- Three convictions for reckless driving in a period of twelve consecutive months
- Contributing to the death of anyone by operating a vehicle
- The crime of assault in which a death occurs from operating a vehicle
- Using a motor vehicle in committing any serious crime
- Making a false statement or using fraudulent information
- Underage possession/consumption of alcohol by persons under 21 years of age
- Any drug offense which results in a conviction
If you post a bond after being arrested for any of the causes listed above and you do not appear in court, your license shall be revoked just as if you had been convicted.
Habitual Offender RevocationAfter an accumulation of certain types of traffic violation convictions, the driver may be declared a habitual offender and his/her license may be revoked for up to five (5) years. No work or hardship licenses are issued to those convicted of being a habitual offender.
Any combination of three of the following offenses in a five (5) year period may convict you as a habitual offender:
- Use of a motor vehicle in the commission of a felony
- Driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs
- Driving without a license
- Driving during suspension or revocation
- Reckless driving
- Failing to stop at the scene of an accident
- Failing to identify yourself at the scene of an accident
- Making a false statement to the Division of Motor Vehicles
- Violation of an occupational license
- Failing to stop on the command of a police officer.
Any combination of the above offenses and lesser offenses, such as speeding, that result in 10 convictions in three years may convict you as a habitual offender.
Driving during Suspension or Revocation
A conviction for driving during suspension or revocation shall extend the period of suspension or revocation for a like period. No driving authority will be permitted during the balance of the initial suspension or revocation and the extended period. Any driving authority previously issued by the Division must be surrendered.