
Attention ALL 

"NEW"

DEALERSHIP 

APPLICANTS

IMPORTANT NOTICE

Effective January 1st  2020, the Division of Motor Vehicles will 
begin strict enforcement of residency requirements for ALL "New"         
Dealer Applicants.  This enforcement will comply with the Delaware 

Law stated in Title 21 §6302.     

Section §6302 -License Requirements:

(c) Resident requirements : The owner of a dealership must have been 
issued a Delaware driver’s license and established residency in Delaware 
at least 90 days prior to the time of application. Franchised and New 
vehicle dealers are exempt from this requirement.

Any further questions please contact the Division of Motor Vehicles at 

302-857-4665.

Thank you,

Delaware Division of Motor Vehicle
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APPLICATION FOR DEALERSHIP LICENSE 
As part of the approval process for a Dealer License, section 6312 of Title 21 of the Delaware Code requires 
that the Division of Motor Vehicles determine whether or not the applicant is of good character and has 
complied with and will comply with the laws of this state and other states.  The Division makes this 
determination by reviewing each application in its entirety, as well as a criminal background check for each 
applicant.  

Please note that it is incumbent on the applicant to ensure that their application and background meet the 
standards set forth by the Code.  Accordingly, the applicant assumes the risk that their application may not 
be approved if they fail to meet these standards.  There will be no reimbursement for any monies expended 
in connection with the application process if the application is denied.  

Date of Application: ___________________ Dealer Number Assigned by DMV: _____________ 

1. Dealership Name:_________________________________________________________

2. Dealership Phone Number: _________________________________

3. Dealership Address:      ____________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________

City: _________________________State:__________________Zip:_________________

Dealership email address___________________________________________________

4. Type of Dealership: (Check One)

      New      Wholesale  

      Auction       Motorcycle/Moped 

      Recycler/Salvage Trailer 

 Mobile Home  

   Used 

___ A Copy of the Lease agreement must be submitted with application. 

5. List Name, Home Address, Birth Date, and Driver License number of All Owners, Partners, and
Managers, if business is not a corporation. Principal Officers, if business is a corporation.  Note:
Delaware driver’s license must be valid for 90 days prior to application date for all owners of
used/wholesale vehicle dealers.  If more than three (3) spaces are needed for owner information,
please make copies of this page and attach to application.
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A. Name:_______________________________________Title:_______________________________

Home address: ___________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________

Home Phone NO: ____________________Driver’s License No./State:_________________ DOB:__________

B. Name:_______________________________________Title:_______________________________

Home address: ___________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________

Home Phone NO: ____________________Driver’s License No./State:_________________ DOB:__________

C. Name:_______________________________________Title:_______________________________

Home address: ___________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________

Home Phone NO: ____________________Driver’s License No./State:_________________ DOB:__________

All Delaware residents are required to provide a copy of their criminal history for all owners and officers of the 
dealership.  Residents of Delaware that have been in the State for less than two (2) years must attach a state certified 
criminal history from their last state of residency in addition to their Delaware criminal history.  Nonresidents must 
provide a state certified criminal history for owners and officers from their current state.  The Delaware criminal 
history may be obtained from the Delaware State Bureau of Identification, 655 Bay Rd., Dover, Delaware 19901 
(800-464-4357).  There is a charge for this service.  

6. Have any of the individuals names in Section 5:

YES___ NO___ (a) 

YES___ NO___   (b) 

YES___ NO___   (c) 

YES___ NO___   (d) 

been convicted of an offense other than a traffic violation? 

been subject to any disciplinary action, past or pending, by any administrative, 
governmental or regulatory body?  

been charged with a violation of any statute, rule, regulation or ordinance of any 
municipal, administrative, regulatory or other governmental body?  

do any of the above named individuals owe taxes or obligation to the State of 
Delaware? 

Please provide explanation for any of the above questions that are answered “Yes”. 

___________________________________________________________________________________________

___________________________________________________________________________________________

___________________________________________________________________________________________

___________________________________________________________________________________________

___________________________________________________________________________________________
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7. Complete the following for anyone in Section 5 who has been previously employed in vehicle sales:

Name of Employee Name of Dealer  State   Date Employed (from-to) 

Name of Employee Name of Dealer  State     Date Employed (from-to) 

Name of Employee Name of Dealer  State   Date Employed (from-to) 

8. List the Name of References,Business or Personal (must be an individual, non-relative and not a  co applicant).
a.

______________________________________________________________________________________________ 
Name            Address                              Telephone 

           b. 
______________________________________________________________________________________________

Name            Address                                                                                       Telephone 



A Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles’ Dealer Procedural Manual can be found at, www.dmv.de.gov, 
click on “Forms” and “Manuals”.  This manual is supplied to make you aware of the laws, regulations 
and other requirements that govern vehicle dealers.  Dealership owners must be knowledgeable of its 
contents.  Failure to comply with Delaware law and Division of Motor Vehicles rules and regulations may 
result in your license being suspended.  The following are critical items.  

1. All dealership records are to be retained for five (5) years and must be available for inspection during business
hours.

2. The Division must be notified immediately of any changes in the business including relocation, telephone
numbers, officer/owner names, addresses, etc.

3. A dealer must receive authorization from the Division before issuing a second temporary registration plate to the
same vehicle.

4. A dealer must witness proof of valid liability insurance and driver’s license before issuing a temporary
registration.

5. Upon issuing a temporary registration, the dealer is required to submit the application for title for any Delaware-
registered vehicle within 30 days of the date of delivery.

6. Dealer Plates can only be used on vehicles owned by the dealership and a written log of their usage must be
maintained.

7. A dealer must disclose to a buyer if a vehicle title is or will be branded as reconstructed, flood-damaged,
salvage, rebuilt salvage, or previous taxi. Disclosure forms can be obtained from any Division of Motor
Vehicles facility.

8. The dealership must hold a valid Delaware Division of Revenue business license.
9. A Completed Federal Trade Commission Buyer’s Guide must be displayed on a side window of all used cars and

trucks with a GVWR less than 8,500 pounds.  Motorcycles are exempt.
10. The Division must immediately be notified of any vehicle received by the dealership for resale (Dealer’s

Notification of Used Vehicles Received- MV60 form). Forms are now available on dealers.dmv.de.gov, where
you can submit your MV60 electronically, or any Division of Motor Vehicles facility.

11. A dealer must comply with the terms of all warranties or guarantees.
12. A dealership owner (except new vehicle dealerships) must be a Delaware resident.
13. A dealership may be held responsible for the acts of its sales people as well as its principal members.
14. Wholesale dealers may NOT  1) sell or exchange vehicles with a retail buyer 2) buy, sell or exchange new

vehicles and 3) sell vehicles on consignment.

CERTIFICATION OF DEALER RESPONSIBILITIES AND REQUIREMENTS 

In submitting this application for the Division of Motor Vehicle’s consideration, I/we certify that all motor 
vehicles or trailers owned by this dealership or under its control will be continuously covered by liability 
insurance in the minimum amounts required under the Delaware Financial Responsibility Law.  

I/we understand Delaware law requires dealers to allow full and free access to all dealership books and records 
pertaining to the purchase or sale of any motor vehicle or trailer by the dealership.  Access shall be granted 
during regular business hours to duly authorized representatives of the Division of Motor Vehicles, Attorney 
General’s Office or law enforcement officers.  
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I/we further certify under the penalties provided by law that I/we have read and understand all 
information requested and requirements stated on this application. The answers are true and 
correct to the best of my/our knowledge. I/we understand that any dealership license issued is 
subject to suspension for violation(s) of Title 11 or Title 21 of the Delaware Code; any 
violation(s) of Delaware Law; or any violation(s) of the Division of Motor Vehicles Rules and 
Regulations.  

I/we hereby certify that there are no misrepresentations or falsifications in the information stated 
in this application. I/we am/are aware that false or misleading statements will be cause for 
rejection or revocation of dealer's license and privileges. Any violation of the laws and 
regulations may result in the suspension of my vehicle dealer's license. 

           _________________________________________ 
           Signature of applicant            Title 

_________________________________________ 

Print Name of Applicant  

           _________________________________________ 
           Signature of applicant            Title 

_________________________________________ 

Print Name of Applicant 

           _________________________________________ 
           Signature of applicant            Title 

_________________________________________ 

Print Name of Applicant  

           _________________________________________ 
           Signature of applicant            Title 

_________________________________________ 

Print Name of Applicant  

Sworn and Subscribed  
Before me on this __ Day of___  
_____________A.D.20_______ 

__________________________ 

Notary Public 

Sworn and Subscribed  
Before me on this __ Day of___  
_____________A.D.20_______ 

__________________________ 

Notary Public 

Sworn and Subscribed  
Before me on this __ Day of___  
_____________A.D.20_______ 

__________________________ 

Notary Public 

Sworn and Subscribed  
Before me on this __ Day of___  
_____________A.D.20_______ 

__________________________ 

Notary Public 
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