Odometer Mileage Readings:

Federal and State laws require the Division to collect and validate the odometer mileage readings for most motor vehicles upon initial registration and title transfers. The Division also records vehicle mileage when a Delaware registered vehicle is inspected for registration renewal. The initial registration mileage and renewal mileage is maintained in a mileage history for every vehicle registered in Delaware.

Reporting of the odometer mileage disclosures assists in the detection of odometer tampering. The collection of this information provides consumers with an accurate record of the mileage affecting the retail value of the vehicle.

When do I report odometer mileage readings?

Odometer mileage readings are mandatory when:

  • A motor vehicle is initially registered or when the ownership is transferred, or
  • A new title is required for any reason, or
  • You renew your vehicle's registration

Are there any exceptions to the reporting requirements?

Yes, reporting the odometer mileage reading is encouraged, but not mandatory if:

  • The vehicle is 10 years old or older,
  • The vehicle is a commercial vehicle with a gross vehicle weight above 16,000 pounds,
  • The vehicle is a non-motorized vehicle

How do I report the odometer mileage?

Enter the mileage on the Certificate of Title in the section designated for the disclosure of odometer reading (see example): I certify to the best of my knowledge that the Odometer Reading is the Actual Mileage of the vehicle unless one of the following statements is checked:

Odometer Reading — Miles (no tenths)

           
[   ] 1.The mileage stated is in excess of its mechanical limits.
(Mileage exceeds 99,999 miles)

[   ] 2.The odometer reading is not the actual mileage

Warning - Odometer Discrepancy

Federal and State Law requires that you state the mileage in connection with transfer of ownership. Failure to complete Odometer Statement or providing a False Statement may result in fines and/or imprisonment.

I certify, under penalty of perjury, that the statements made herein are true and correct to the best of my knowledge, information and belief.

Signature of Seller _________________________________________________
Signature of Buyer _________________________________________________
Signature of Seller _________________________________________________
Signature of Buyer _________________________________________________
Printed Name of Seller _________________________________________________
Printed Name of Buyer _________________________________________________

How you make the disclosure depends on the type of odometer in your vehicle and your vehicle's mileage. The following general rules apply:

  • When your vehicle has less than 100,000 miles and the odometer reads the actual miles on the vehicle, you need only write in the odometer disclosure block "the actual mileage shown" on the vehicle odometer
  • When your vehicle has over 100,000 miles, the disclosure depends on the type of odometer in your vehicle. If your vehicle is equipped with an odometer capable of reading 999,999 miles, you need only write in the odometer disclosure "the actual mileage shown" on the odometer. (NOTE: Do not write in tenths of miles.) (Example: If your odometer reads 118, 666.6 miles, you would disclose 118,666 miles on the title.)
  • If your vehicle is equipped with an odometer capable of reading only 99,999 miles and the odometer reading rolled over (exceeded 100,000 miles), you must write in the odometer disclosure block the actual miles currently showing on the odometer. Check the box stating "the mileage stated is in excess of odometer mechanical limits (exceeds 99,999)". (Example: If your odometer has rolled over and now reads 5,634.6 miles, you would disclose 5,634 miles and check Block 1 on the Delaware title showing odometer exceeds 99,999 miles.)
  • When your odometer does not indicate the actual mileage on the vehicle due to odometer replacement, broken odometer or any other reason, you must write in the odometer disclosure block the actual miles showing on the odometer. Check the box stating "the odometer reading is not the actual mileage - Warning - Odometer Discrepancy. (Example: If the odometer on your vehicle was replaced when the old odometer read 50,000 miles and the new odometer was set to read 0 (zero) miles, the odometer disclosure you make must show the mileage on the new odometer. You must check the block on the title stating "the odometer reading is not the actual mileage" - Warning - Odometer Discrepancy.) In addition, Delaware law requires owners to attach a notice in writing to the left door frame of the vehicle when an odometer is repaired or replaced and is incapable of registering the same mileage as before such service, repair or replacement. The repaired or replaced odometer shall be adjusted to read 0 (zero) miles and the notice shall specify the mileage prior to repair or replacement and the date of repair or replacement
  • The seller must sign the title and print his/her name in the appropriate blocks certifying the sale of the vehicle and the odometer disclosure. The buyer acknowledges the disclosure by signing and printing his/her name in the buyer's blocks

What happens if I make a mileage disclosure on the back of the title that is lower than the mileage shown on the front of the title? The title would be rejected by the Division unless one of the blocks stating "the mileage stated is in excess of odometer mechanical limits (exceeds 99,999)" or "the odometer reading is not the actual mileage" - Warning - Odometer Discrepancy is checked. Vehicle buyers need to check odometer information on the front and back of the title carefully. Look for any odometer brands or alterations to the mileage. Ensure the seller completes the odometer disclosure section on the back of the title. This will protect your legal rights in case of a false disclosure.

What if the odometer mileage readings is reported?

The odometer mileage reading will be displayed on the new Certificate of Title issued by the Division. Additionally, an odometer brand will be printed on the title and will reflect the mileage as one of the following:

  • Actual vehicle mileage
  • Mileage exceeds odometer mechanical limits
  • Not actual vehicle mileage
  • Mileage disclosure not required