Q. I just moved to DE, how do I get a driver license?

A: To continue to drive in Delaware you must apply for and receive a Delaware driver license within 60 days after becoming a Delaware resident. Although most traffic laws in all states are somewhat uniform, there are some that may be unique to Delaware. Because of this, we suggest that you pick up a driver manual at one of our offices to acquaint yourself with Delaware's traffic laws. When you obtain your driver license, you may also register to vote and/or become an organ donor through our offices. You must apply in person at one of the offices of the Division of Motor Vehicles in Wilmington, New Castle, Dover or Georgetown. You will be required to pass an eye test. The written test and the road test may be waived if you hold a valid driver license from another state. New residents should be prepared to provide one proof of identity, one proof of legal presence, two proofs of Delaware residence, proof of Social Security Number, and if applicable, proof of legal name change(s). For a complete list of acceptable documents, please visit our website at www.dmv.de.gov under general requirements. You may also utilize the "Document Selector Guide" on our website to ensure you have the appropriate documents prior to visiting the DMV. Upon receiving a Delaware driver license you must give up all valid licenses from other states. If your out-of-state license has expired, you must present to the division at time of application, a current driving record from your previous state of residence and be prepared for a written test. Unlicensed drivers must present a certified birth certificate with a raised seal to show their correct name and date of birth. If you are under 18 years of age, you must have completed a course in driver education, which must be approved by the Delaware Department of Education. Also, one parent (with whom the child resides) is required to sign your application. Those drivers under 18 years of age who transfer from another state will be issued a graduated driver license unless their out-of-state license was issued for over one year, and the driver has reached at least 17 years of age. Members in the military service and their dependants are not required to obtain Delaware driver licenses and vehicle registrations until 60 days after separation from the service. The fee for a driver license is $40.00. It is valid for 8 years (with the exception of immigration length of stay) and will expire on applicant's birth date.
 

Q. I just moved to DE, how do I title / register my vehicle?

A: If you just moved to Delaware, you will need to have Delaware vehicle insurance for the vehicle(s) you wish to register and title in Delaware. You will need to first have your vehicle(s) go through and pass inspection. Once it has passed, you will proceed into the DMV to title and register your vehicle. If you do not have a Delaware drivers license or ID, you will need to bring two proofs of residency; proof of insurance; a passing inspection; and proof of identity. If your vehicle(s) has a lien, you will be given a form (MV35) to complete and mail to your lien holder requesting the title be sent to Delaware for titling. You will need to pay for a new title ($25.00 if no lien holder, $35.00 if you do have a lien holder); registration fees ($40.00 per year. Most vehicles can be registered up to two years), and the document fee, which is 3.75% of the NADA average trade in value of your vehicle. For example, if your vehicle is valued at $10,000.00 the document fee would be $375.00. All services (inspection, obtaining driver license, register, and title vehicle(s) can be accomplished at any of the four DMV locations in Delaware.
 

Q. How do I title a vehicle that belonged to someone who passed away?

A: The executor/executrix of the decedent will sign the existing title over to you in section 1. The Division is required to witness the original document issued by the County Register of Wills Office. A photocopy of this document will not be accepted. Documentation fee, title fee, and/or registration fees shall apply.
 

Q. What is the procedure to title/register a vehicle that was given to me as a gift?

A: This only applies to vehicles currently titled in the State of Delaware and gifted to you by an immediate relative (spouse, parent, grandparent, child, or sibling). The Delaware title shall be signed over to you in section 1. If it is not evident that you are immediate family, proof of relationship must be provided to the Division (such as birth certificate or marriage certificate). A title fee of $25 shall apply.
 

Q. How soon can I renew my vehicle registration?

A: Vehicle registration can be inspected and renewed up to 90 days prior to the expiration date without any loss of time.
 

Q. How do I transfer my current license plate to another vehicle?

A: Bring the titles to all vehicles involved. Notate the odometer disclosure of each vehicle in section 1 in the Odometer Disclosure box as well as sign and print your name as buyer. You will be subject to any title fees, service fees, and/or registration fees based on the nature of the complete transaction.
 

Q. Do I have to title/register a trailer?

A: Yes, all trailers used on Delaware highways are required to be titled and registered.
 

Q. Do I have to title and register a moped?

A: Yes, all mopeds used on Delaware highways are required to be titled and registered.
 

Q. Do I have to take my moped through inspection again to renew the registration?

A: No. Once your moped has been inspected during the initial titling/registration process, it will not have to be inspected again as long as you do not title/register in another state. Moped tags are good for a period of three years.
 

Q. How do I title/register a mobile home?

A: After receiving the current title which shall be endorsed by the seller(s) on the reverse side, you will first take the title to the County Tax Assessment Office and obtain a Certification Letter. This is a mandatory document for processing with the Division. The names on the Letter must match the buyers names on the reverse side of the title. Bring the Letter and title to your nearest DMV location for processing. You are subject to documentation and title fees.
 

Q. How do I change the name on my title & registration?

A: In order to change your name on your registration, you must also change the title. You must first have your driver license changed prior to title and registration. You will bring your title, driver license, and proof of insurance to your nearest DMV location. You will be asked to disclose the current mileage and endorse the title in sections 1 and 4. The charge is $25. In the event a lien holder is holding your title, you will be given a MV-35 to mail to your lender requesting the title to be mailed to the Division. The charge for a title with a lien is $35.
 

Q. How do I change the name on my driver license?

A: You must first change your name with the Social Security Administration 72 hours prior to changing with the DMV. You will need to bring your legal name changing document (marriage license, divorce decree, court order) to the DMV. A photo and signature will be required.
 

Q. Do I have to return my license plate if I move to another state?

A: Delaware Law (Title 21 Section 2507) requires that the owner(s) of a Delaware registered vehicle(s) that moves to another state and has the vehicle(s) registered into that state must return the Delaware plate(s) with a statement that the vehicle(s) are now registered in the new state to include the name of the state to:

Division of Motor Vehicles
Attn: Uninsured Motorist Section
P.O. Box 698
Dover, DE 19903
 

Q. Do I have to accompany the buyer to the DMV if I am privately selling my vehicle?

A: No. As a seller, your obligation is to complete the Sellers Report of Sale, a detachable portion at the bottom of the current title and to complete section one on the reverse side of the title, including the buyer(s) name, address, date of sale, total cost of the vehicle, odometer reading, signature, and printed name. The buyer will take the Certificate of Title. You will need to mail the Sellers Report to the address provided or hand carry it to a DMV location as soon as possible. This releases you of liability but does not transfer ownership until the buyer presents documentation to the Division. Please note that it is unlawful for a buyer to drive on a vehicle prior to the title/registration being transferred at a Division of Motor Vehicles location.
 

Q. I am out of state and lost my driver license. What do I do?

A: Delaware will provide a non-military individual with temporary driving authority for a period not to exceed 6 months if the individual's license has been lost, stolen, or is expiring.

The following information must be provided:

  1. Name in full.
  2. Date of birth.
  3. Social Security Number.
  4. Driver license number.
  5. Delaware address.
  6. Reason for being out-of-state.
  7. Date of return to Delaware.
  8. Place of birth (city, state, and country). **If you were born outside of the US, please call 302.744.2506 for additional information.**
  9. Current contact phone number.
  10. Fax number or e-mail address to send temporary to.
  11. Signature.

The above-required information should be faxed to: 302.739.2602, Attn: Driver License.

Q. How do I renew my driver license when I am in the military stationed out of Delaware?

A: Please click on the link below for the process to allow active duty military and their dependents to renew their driver license.
http://www.dmv.de.gov/services/driver_services/other/dr_oth_military_renewal.shtml
 

Q. How do I renew my vehicle registration when I am in the military stationed out of Delaware?

A: You will need to contact our Registration Correspondence Section for an Out-of-State Inspection Packet to be mailed to your address provided you are outside a 250 mile radius of a DMV location in the State of Delaware. The packet consists of a safety inspection checklist and an emission test requirements. The packet and vehicle shall be taken to a vehicle dealership or mechanic for inspection and their endorsement that the vehicle meets these requirements. You may then mail the documents, a photocopy of your Delaware driver license and current Delaware insurance card and necessary fees to the address provided on the form for processing through the mail. We suggest you include a self-addressed envelope back to your address.
 

Q. How do I renew my vehicle registration when I am away at college?

A: You will need to contact our Registration Correspondence Section for an Out-of-State Inspection Packet to be mailed to your address provided you are outside a 250 mile radius of a DMV location in the State of Delaware. The packet consists of a safety inspection checklist and an emission test requirements. The packet and vehicle shall be taken to a vehicle dealership or mechanic for inspection and their endorsement that the vehicle meets these requirements. You may then mail the documents, a photocopy of your Delaware driver license and current Delaware insurance card and necessary fees to the address provided on the form for processing through the mail. We suggest you include a self-addressed envelope back to your address.
 

Q. How do I renew my driver license when I am away at college?

A: Delaware will provide a non-military individual with temporary driving authority for a period not to exceed 6 months if the individual's license has been lost, stolen, or is expiring.

The following information must be provided:

  1. Name in full.
  2. Date of birth.
  3. Social Security Number.
  4. Driver license number.
  5. Delaware address.
  6. Reason for being out-of-state.
  7. Date of return to Delaware.
  8. Place of birth (city, state, and country). **If you were born outside of the US, please call 302.744.2506 for additional information.**
  9. Current contact phone number.
  10. Fax number or e-mail address to send temporary to.
  11. Signature.

The above-required information should be faxed to: 302.739.2602, Attn: Driver License.

Q. How many questions are on the driver license knowledge/written test?

A: There are 30 questions on the knowledge test of which at least 24 must be answered correctly to pass.
http://www.dmv.de.gov/services/driver_services/drivers_license/dr_lic_written.shtml
 

Q. How do I make an appointment for a child safety seat check?

A: Child seat safety checks are performed by the Delaware Office of Highway Safety (OHS). Click on the link http://ohs.delaware.gov/carseat for more information on how to make an appointment or you can call OHS directly. For New Castle County (302) 434-3234, Kent County (302) 744-2749 or Sussex County (302) 853-1014.
 

Q. Are 501(c)(3) non-profit organization exempt from paying vehicle registration fees?

A: Yes. Under Delaware Code Title 21 § 2159(a)(7), non-profit organizations that are recognized as a 501(c)(3) by the IRS are exempt from vehicle registration fees. Please present the IRS 501(c)(3) documentation to DMV for waiver of the registration fee. However, 501(c)(3) organizations must pay the document fee at time of titling. The document fee is 3.75% of the vehicle’s value.