The intent of Delaware's aggressive driving law is to identify aggressive drivers and change their high-risk driving habits by requiring their attendance in a specific training program. The ultimate goal is crash prevention. Aggressive driving is defined in terms of existing Title 21 offenses such as failure to yield, unsafe lane change, disregard of a traffic control device, failure to stop at the command of a police officer, following too closely, passing on a shoulder, and speeding. Individuals convicted of 3 or more of these offenses as a result of continuous conduct are guilty of aggressive driving and are subject to increased penalties. Offenders are required to complete a behavioral modification/attitudinal-driving course within 90 days after the conviction for aggressive driving. Failure to attend the course may result in suspension of the individuals driving privilege.
For further information regarding Aggressive Driving, please contact the Suspension Section at 302.744.2509.
Approved Behavioral Modification/Attitudinal-Driving Courses
NOTE: Course providers are approved but not associated with the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
The Secretary of Transportation has approved the following agencies to provide the behavioral modification/attitudinal-driving course. The course is a minimum of 8 hours long and is offered in all three counties. The fee for the course is $100.00 and is payable to the course provider. When you complete the behavior modification course, the provider will send the notification of completion electronically to DMV within 48 hours.
Almighty Driving School Academy, LLC
14614 Shiloh Church Rd
Laurel, DE 19956
Contact: LaVerne Boone
Delaware Safety Council
2 Read's Way
New Castle Corporate Commons
New Castle, DE 19720
Phone: New Castle County - 302.276.0660
Kent & Sussex County - 800.342.2287
Online Traffic School Inc
Online Traffic School, Inc
Drive Safe Today
Contact: Vivek Bhatt
Address: 378 Summit Avenue, Jersey City, NJ 07306
I Drive Safely
A Better Delaware Online Aggressive Driving School
White Knuckles Institute
White Knuckles Institute
Contact: Linda Marion
Delaware Defensive Driving, Inc.
New Castle County: 302.366.0716
Kent County: 302.465.3927
Sussex County: 888.940.0716
Delaware's Law Enforcement Agencies will be out in force to stop and ticket those individuals who carelessly endanger our lives each and every day.
You can assist us by:
- Remaining Calm
- Not Taking Traffic Problems Personally
- Avoiding Eye Contact with Aggressive Drivers
- Not Challenging Them
- Staying Away from Erratic Drivers
Additionally, you can help make Delaware's roadways safer by reporting Aggressive Driving with your cellular phone. Get their tag number and report it.