About the Motorcycle Skill Test:
The Department of Transportation is offering a road skill test for motorcycle license applicants. The test consists of four (4) exercises that measure the applicant's ability to handle a motorcycle including starting, accelerating, turning and braking.
Studies have shown that riders with less than one year of riding experience have more accidents than more experienced riders. This test is designed to make sure you possess the critical skills you'll need to safely operate a motorcycle on the road and to avoid accidents.
What to Expect When You Arrive for Your Test:
If you are under 18, to receive a motorcycle endorsement on your license, you must successfully complete the approved Novice or Experienced Motorcycle Training Course. After completing the course, which includes a knowledge and skill test, you will receive a Student Completion Card (SCC). Present the SCC to the DMV within 6 months of completing the course, pass an eye test, pay a fee of $8.00 and a motorcycle endorsement will be issued indicating you eligibility to operate a motorcycle.
Note: Delaware law requires riders under 19 to wear a helmet.
If you are over 18, you must pass the motorcycle written and skill test. Refer to the Delaware Motorcycle Operator's Manual to prepare for the written test. Bring your motorcycle to the branch office for your skill test. Your motorcycle must have a valid plate, and be insured. To take the test you should wear a motorcycle helmet, eye protection, and proper protective clothing, which includes:
- Boots or shoes that cover the ankles
- Long sleeved jacket or shirt
- Full-length pants and gloves
The license examiner will explain each test exercise and scoring before you begin the test. None of the exercises are difficult or dangerous for an experienced rider. Most of the exercises involve speeds of about 12 - 15 mph. If you feel that an exercise is beyond your skill level, tell the examiner. You must successfully complete all exercises to pass the skill test. The entire test takes about 15 minutes.
The procedures used to score applicant performance are objective. For example, points are scored for going outside the lines or putting your foot down during an exercise.
If you successfully complete the approved Novice or Experienced Motorcycle Training Course, you will not have to complete the written and road test before receiving your endorsement. You would, present the SCC to the DMV within 6 months of completing the course, pass an eye test, pay a fee of $8.00 and a motorcycle endorsement will be issued indicating you eligibility to operate a motorcycle.